Baarivi, Nodivi, Odhivi & Oridivi ! [Come, See, Read & Listen!] பாரிவி, நோடிவி, ஓதிவி & ஓரிடிவி

Website of Wing Commander Bellie Jayaprakash©2006-2016
The Contents of , , , , are ©Copyright of Wing Commander Bellie Jayaprakash 2006-2016

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the material in this site without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts (up to 60 words) and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Wing Commander Bellie Jayaprakash ( with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. All photographs and sketches, until otherwise stated, are by Wing Commander Bellie Jayaprakash

© 2006-2016 Wing Commander Bellie Jayaprakash -

Badaga proverbs ♣♣♣...♥♥♥

Dhoddaru Shloka



Chosen by Wg Cdr JP

☂ ☂☂☂☂☂ ☂

Badaga - Hatti, Ooru & Naadu(See'may)

As elaborated in the page on Badaga Hattis [villages], still there seems to be no conclusive evidence about how the ancestors made the divisions [geographical and social] about their villages.Simply put, in ancient times, a few houses (among brothers and cousins) formed a HATTI and then a cluster of villages, though based not only on the geographical locations, formed a OORU. Obviously, all the people from the hattis forming the Ooru were/are considered as brothers and sisters - and hence no marriages among these hattis were considered. Then, many Oorus formed a SEEMAY or NAADU.  

And, FOUR Seemays or Naadus form NAKKU BETTA - representing the complete Badaga population in the Nilgiri hills. Though, only three Naadus /Seemays namely, Thodhanaadu, Mekkunaadu and Porangaadu have the Dhodda Betta peak as the apex and common point of  these three seemays, KUNDHEY SEEMAY, at the south eastern end, is very much a separate  and important seemay. See the map.

Nakku Betta

The confusion comes when we realise that some Thodha,Kotha and Kuruma villages/Oorus were also included into the broader periphery of Naadu/Seemay. The probable reasons for this inclusion could be the close association of Badagas with these tribes considered as the original inhabitants of the Nilgiris along with Badagas.
Oorus forming Porangaadu Seemay ;

Badaga - Villages, Communes and (Four) Divisions

  1. Hubbathalai - [1.Dhodda Hubbathalai 2.Kunna Hubbathalai]
  2. Jakkadha - [1.Jakkadha 2.Kaarakorai 3.Bearatti 4.Mel Bikkatti 5.Kiya Bikkatti 6.Manjitha 7.Malligorai 8.Honnamudi 9.Odhanatti]
  3. Jakkanarai - [1.Jakkanarai Melkeri,2. J - Oorkeri, 3.J - Kiyakeri, 4. J - Thoria keri, 5.Thumboor ,6.Thinniyur, 7.Mudiakambai, 8.Bangalada, 9.Kallada, 10.Selavai, 11.Bettatti. 12.Naduhatti, 13.Arabettu, 14.Aravenu, 15.Aravenu kettikeri]
CONTINUE reading here.....

CONTINUE reading...........

No comments: